The aim of the International Symposium on Transport Network Resilience (INSTR) is to bring together researchers and professionals interested in transportation network reliability, to discuss both recent research and future directions in this increasingly important field of research. The scope of the symposium includes all aspects of analysis and design to improve network reliability.


  1. Kyoto (Aug 2001) [proceedings]
  2. Christchurch (Aug 2004) [proceedings]
  3. The Hague (July 2007)
  4. Minneapolis (2010) [selected papers][special section, TR part C]
  5. Hong Kong (2012)
  6. Nara (Aug 2015)
  7. Sydney (Jan 2018)
  8. Stockholm (June 2020)(June 2021)
  9. Hong Kong (December 2023)
  10. Lyon (summer 2026). Details to be announced

International Scientific Committee

  • Michael G. H. Bell, The University of Sydney, Australia
  • Yasuo Asakura, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Anthony Chen, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong SAR
  • Bi Yu Chen, Wuhan University, China 
  • Cynthia Chen, University of Washington, US
  • Yu-Chiun Chiou, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • Nour-Eddin El Faouzi, Universite de Lyon, IFSTTAR, France
  • Alireza Ermagun, Mississippi State University, US
  • Yueyue Fan, UC-Davis, US
  • Mehdi Keyvan-Ekbatani, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Navid Khademi, University of Tehran, Iran
  • Jiwon Kim, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Fumitaka Kurauchi, Gifu University, Japan
  • Masao Kuwahara, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Takamasa Iryo, Kobe University, Japan
  • Erik Jenelius, KTH Stockholm, Sweden
  • William H. K. Lam, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong SAR
  • Seungjae Lee, The University of Seoul, Korea
  • David Levinson, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Hong K. Lo, The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, Hong Kong SAR
  • Elise Miller-Hooks, George Mason University, US
  • Emily Moylan, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Pamela Murray-Tuite, Clemson University, US 
  • Stefanie Peer, WU Vienna University of Economics, Austria 
  • Wafaa Saleh, Napier University, U.K.
  • Jan-Dirk Schmöcker, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Maaike Snelder, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
  • Wai Yuen Szeto, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR
  • Francesco Viti, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • David Watling, University of Leeds, U.K.
  • Xiangdong Xu, Tongji University, China
  • Hai Yang, The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, Hong Kong SAR
Honorary Members:
  • Pasquale Colonna, Polytechnic University of Bari, Italy
  • Yasunori Iida, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Alan Nicholson, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Eiichi Taniguchi, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Michael A. P. Taylor, University of South Australia, Australia
  • Henk J. van Zuylen†, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Meeting of the International Scientific Committee, June 2021.